Nominations Open for Rails Premier Industry Awards Event

Image Courtesy of ARA

The Australasian Rail Industry Awards are being held once again, with nominations for the premier event opening.

After a successful inaugural event in Melbourne last year, the Awards will be making their way to Sydneys Four Seasons Hotel, to be held on the evening of Thursday 9 July 2015.

Bryan Nye OAM, CEO of the Australasian Railway Association (ARA) said he was eager to build on the success of last years event, which saw 100 nominations received across the broad spectrum of categories and a sell-out dinner for the Awards ceremony.

ARA Nominated for Award

This year will see the Awards grow to be bigger and better; with more categories, new supporters and sponsors, and a larger venue with greater capacity, said Mr Nye.

The Presentation Dinner is set to be a highlight event for the rail industry in 2015, bringing together leaders from all across the rail sector to unite and support the outstanding achievements of individuals and companies in our great industry.

Nominations are open as of today and will close on Friday 24 April 2015, so I encourage people interesting in submitting an application to avoid the last minute rush and get your nomination in early, he said.

Some of the 16 categories for 2015 include Career Achievement; Customer Service; Employee Engagement; Innovation and Technology; Safety; and Workforce Diversity. All proceeds from the event will go to the TrackSAFE Foundation, a registered Harm Prevention Charity established by the industry endeavouring to reduce near collisions, injuries and fatalities on the rail network resulting from suicide and reckless behaviour.

TrackSAFE is the only foundation in the world established to address the important issue of trauma caused to rail employees as a result of suicide and trespass on the rail network. The proceeds of the Awards will enable TrackSAFE to continue its cause in raising awareness and changing behaviour for the betterment of rail and its employees, concluded Mr Nye.

Supporting the event along with the ARA is the Institution of Railway Signal Engineers (IRSE); the Railway Technical Society of Australasia (RTSA); the Rail Track Association Australia (RTAA); the Rail, Tram and Bus Union (RTBU); and the Permanent Way Institution (PWINSW).

For further information on the Awards and to nominate visit

Get your news featured on Railway-News

Please fill in the contact form opposite. A member of the team will be in touch shortly.

    We'd love to send you the latest news and information from the world of Railway-News. Please tick the box if you agree to receive them.

    For your peace of mind here is a link to our Privacy Policy.

    By submitting this form, you consent to allow Railway-News to store and process this information.

    Follow Railway-News on LinkedIn
    Follow Railway-News on Twitter