California High-Speed Rail Board Awards Design Contract for Central Valley Stations

The California High-Speed Rail Authority’s Board of Directors last week approved awarding the contract for the design and support services for the Merced, Fresno, Kings/Tulare and Bakersfield stations that form part of the route’s initial 171-mile segment.

Conceptual rendering of Fresno station, one of the 4 Central Valley stations
Conceptual rendering of Fresno station, one of the 4 Central Valley stations

A station design contract valued at around 35 million USD went to Foster + Partners and Arup (F+P Arup) for the first of two phases, which will be individually funded. This first phase focuses on advancing the design work at the four station sites by identifying right-of-way and utility relocation requirements needed for station construction for example. The second phase is to progress to final design and construction-ready documents, construction support and commissioning. The first phase has an estimated runtime of 30 months.

CHSRA Chairman Tom Richards said:

“The first four Central Valley high-speed rail stations are one step closer to reality.

“High-speed rail stations will transform cities, spur economic development and create community hubs within the heart of our state.”

The California high-speed rail project is currently being built along 119 miles of the state’s Central Valley with more than 30 active work sites. Work has also been underway to move ahead with design work on the alignment to extend work north into Merced and south into Bakersfield.

Get your news featured on Railway-News

Please fill in the contact form opposite. A member of the team will be in touch shortly.

    We'd love to send you the latest news and information from the world of Railway-News. Please tick the box if you agree to receive them.

    For your peace of mind here is a link to our Privacy Policy.

    By submitting this form, you consent to allow Railway-News to store and process this information.

    Follow Railway-News on LinkedIn
    Follow Railway-News on Twitter